It’s the users’ choice to allow or not allow the subscribers.
Please note that only the people above 18 can allow the subscribers.
Benefits of Allowing Subscribers :
- You can reach more and more people worldwide. Your message is spread in the news feed of the Subscribers directly even if they are not your friends.
- If you are a public figure, a journalist or a politician without creating a separate page on Facebook, just by allowing Subscribers you can reach your fans. Your fans who are your subscribers, can LIKE your public posts and if you allow can comment on your posts too. This saves the time and investment of managing a profile and a page.
- If you are a politician, by allowing Subscribers, you can directly reach your voters and get their feedback, expectations from you immediately.
- If you are a musician or celebrity you can share the updates about your shows, latest release, photos and can get the direct feedback from fans very easily.
- Facebook Suggests the list of the people who have allowed the subscription option. So your profile will be visible in that list once you allow the Subscribe button. Facebook gives suggestions based on the number of friends of a Facebook user who are Subscribed to the same person and based on the Shared interests.
- You can have unlimited amount of Subscribers.
- If you are worried about the your privacy, please note that no personal data is shared with third parties through Subscribe plug in.(As per Facebook official declaration.)
- You can always change the visibility of every post to public or limited only to friends or you can customize the settings. So again you do not need to worry about Privacy of your posts.
- Once anybody sends you the friend request, they are automatically subscribed to your public posts if you have allowed the Subscribe button.
If you do not want a specific person to subscribe you, you can block them.
How to Allow Subscribe Option?
- Click the drop down menu near the Home Tab and Go to Account Settings
- Click on the Subscribers option on the left hand side.
- Check the box next to Allow Subscribers option. By checking the box your subscribers will receive your public updates – The updates which are kept ‘Public’ by you.
- Subscriber Reach : If you check this box, people can find you easily and your timeline preview are shown up in the search engine results. If you do not wish your Facebook timeline visible in Facebook search and other search engines, do not check this box, or you can always undo the action, if you have checked the box unknowingly. Please note that because some search engines Cache information, some of your timeline information may be available for a period of time after you turn public search off.
- Subscriber comments: Who can Comment on Your Public Posts? – Third option is Subscriber comments. You can choose here, Public subscribers or friends of friends or only friends to comment on your public posts.
- Subscriber Notifications : You can get the notifications about the subscriptions, reshares and comments from Public (including subscribers) or you can change settings limited to friends or friends of friends.
- Username : You can change your username once. Choose the username that will be easy to find your friends in search.